Historic Seattle believes that historic places provide an essential link to the past, reminding us of who we are and where we came from. Founded in 1974, Historic Seattle is dedicated to preserving Seattle and King County’s architectural legacy.
Last evening, the Publix Hotel and First United Methodist Church (FUMC)/The Sanctuary were recognized at Historic Seattle’s 9th Annual Awards Benefit. Each year, the program showcases a handful of exceptional public and private projects that preserve and protect Seattle’s built heritage. The Publix Hotel received the “Best Rehabilitation” award and the FUMC the “Exemplary Stewardship” award. Our team is honored to have contributed to the restoration and modernization of both projects, guaranteeing stability for years to come while instilling a new vitality to the surrounding neighborhoods.
Located in the heart of the international district, the Publix Hotel first opened in 1927. After being closed for more than a decade, it underwent a full rehabilitation in 2014, transforming the single-room occupancy, 8x10-room hotel, into a trendy, multi-family, six-story apartment complex. Thoughtful touches, like the restoration of the original doors and wood paneling, honor the building’s past, while modern amenities like a high-design lobby space, rooftop deck, dog run, and bike storage attract modern tenants.
First United Methodist Church (FUMC)/The Sanctuary
Founded more than 100 years ago, the First United Methodist Church is Seattle’s oldest church. Just a few years ago, the historic building seemed fated for demotion due to mounting repair costs. Preservation groups, with help from public officials, worked tirelessly to keep the church from being razed. Thankfully, FUMC would be salvaged and integrated into the design of the neighboring Kevin Daniels high-rise project, F5 tower (formerly, The Mark). Our team helped restore the historical treasure, designing connections to the tower, and incorporating it into F5’s final design as a high-end event venue for SLS Hotel. Reincarnated as “The Sanctuary” a stunning glass walkway now connects the venue to the tower.